506th IR Realism Unit

Recruiting => The Duty Desk => Topic started by: SSG (Ret) Duffy on January 04, 2021, 07:29:30 PM

Title: Set OpFor Faction Hold Fire
Post by: SSG (Ret) Duffy on January 04, 2021, 07:29:30 PM
I know that this has been an issue from the start, but are there reliable scripts for having Opfor Hold fire through combination of set CombatMode and set Behavior?  I do the vanilla change to hold fire and set behavior to careless, but does not work.

What I am trying to is allow Bluefor to travel into Opfor territory and not have them open up right away. 

Then will change behavior/combat mode on the fly.
Title: Re: Set OpFor Faction Hold Fire
Post by: Capt Ringrose on January 04, 2021, 09:41:08 PM
SPC,

This is because of the LAMBs AI mod that we use, yes you can change the unit instructions however the LAMBs modules will automatically change them to what it thinks is fine. You will find that we have a disable FSM module within the Zeus interface, this will disable some of the features on the unit, e.g. movement however it can not fully disable lambs on any unit.

Capt Ringrose
S-4 Mod Team Leader
Title: Re: Set OpFor Faction Hold Fire
Post by: SSG (Ret) Duffy on January 04, 2021, 11:35:21 PM
So there is no functional way to have Opfor to stand down for Blufor?  I see the zeus interface for movement (very helpful), but assuming from the note that combat mode and behavior will always revert.
Title: Re: Set OpFor Faction Hold Fire
Post by: SPC (Ret) Harrison on January 05, 2021, 12:26:44 AM
You could set the enemy units' side to BLUFOR, then switch it back to OPFOR when you want them to engage.

Actually, I would set them to be independent, and make independent friendly to both BLUFOR and OPFOR. Then just switch the units back to OPFOR when you want them to engage.
Title: Re: Set OpFor Faction Hold Fire
Post by: SSG M. Jaeger on January 05, 2021, 09:04:14 AM
Agree with SPC Harrison.  Not an ideal option, but would probably work for you. 
Title: Re: Set OpFor Faction Hold Fire
Post by: SSG (Ret) Duffy on January 05, 2021, 02:07:36 PM
Thanks, how about this way?  Setting players to Captive and then using an event handler to switch them back?

See this (found):

player setCaptive true;
FiredEVH = player addEventhandler["Fired",{
    if (player distance (getMarkerPos "checkpoint") > 100)exitWith{}; //Too far from checkpoint
    player setCaptive false;
    player removeEventHandler FiredEVH;
}];
Title: Re: Set OpFor Faction Hold Fire
Post by: Capt Ringrose on January 05, 2021, 05:29:38 PM
player setCaptive true;
FiredEVH = player addEventhandler["Fired",{
    if (player distance (getMarkerPos "checkpoint") > 100)exitWith{}; //Too far from checkpoint
    player setCaptive false;
    player removeEventHandler FiredEVH;
}];

I would highly recommend against a script like this, this script (per the addEventHandler) will run every time a bullet is fired, therefore, you will be hitting the server with 100's if not 1000's of requests during a fire fight which will cause stuttering and hitching
Title: Re: Set OpFor Faction Hold Fire
Post by: SSG M. Jaeger on January 05, 2021, 06:12:48 PM
Is there a parameter to adjust detection range?